EU Commission vows tough action to contain African Swine Fever

The European Union  has asked member states to implement a tougher strategy to contain the spread of ASF. Nine EU member states have been hit by the virus so far.

Belgium has culled up to 4,000 pigs to prevent the outbreak from infecting domesticated animals and has placed a region under quarantine. In Belgium, the disease was first found in wild boars.

South Korea, Taiwan, China, Belarus, the Philippines, Mexico, Japan, South Africa, Singapore, Serbia, Uruguay, and Malaysia plan to ban pork imported from Belgium.